skip to Main Content

Hugo Theorell Prize in Biophysics 2023 to Marta Carroni, Stockholm University

Hugo Theorell Prize in Biophysics 2023 to Marta Carroni, Stockholm University

Press release in pdf format

The 2023 prize is awarded to Marta Carroni, Department of Biophysics and Biochemistry, Science for Life Laboratory, Stockholm University (SU), for her great contributions to make cryo-electron microscopy available to Swedish researchers, educate users of the Cryo-EM unit at SciLifeLab and also carry out significant research on her own. Marta currently holds the position of the Platform Director for the Cellular and Molecular Imaging Platform at the SciLifeLab. Her personal research interests are on large AAA+ ATPase machines involved in protein quality control in bacteria and human. In particular, she is interested in understanding the fine regulation of AAA+ proteases and disaggregases via specific domains as well as interaction with protein adaptors. Unravelling the molecular tuning of AAA+ chaperones will help fighting antibiotic resistance in bacteria and shedding light into neurodegeneration and other proteostasis-related diseases in humans.

Marta holds a PhD in Biophysics from the Imperial College London and joined SU in 2016 as the head of the Stockholm node of the Swedish Cryo-EM facility at SciLifeLab. More information about Marta, Cryo-EM and her research is available here.

Hugo Theorell

Hugo Theorell (1903-1982) was one of the pioneers in international biophysical research. Theorell received the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1955 for his ground laying work on oxidizing enzymes.

About the Hugo Theorell Prize

The prize is awarded to a successful young researcher who is active in biophysics in Sweden and has not turned 45 during the year of the award.

The Hugo Theorell Prize is a scientific award given in connection with the Swedish Conference on Macromolecular Structure and Function. In addition to a diploma, the award also includes a prize of SEK 5,000. The prize was established in 1991 and is awarded by the Swedish Society for Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology.

For questions, please contact:

Previous prize winners

2022 – Katja Petzold

2018 – Björn Högberg

2013 – Luca Jovine

2012 – Richard Neutze

2011 – Magnus Wolf-Watz

2004 – Oleg Antzutkin

2001 – Sara Linse

1998 – Peter Brzezinski

1994 – Örjan Hansson


The Swedish Society for Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology (SFBBM) is an association of Swedish biochemists, biophysicists, and molecular biologists, as well as anybody interested in these sciences. The association’s tasks are to promote the development of biochemistry, biophysics and molecular biology. SFBBM is affiliated with the Swedish Chemical Society. The Swedish Chemical Society is a national non-profit association for anybody interested in chemistry and aims to promote the development of chemistry and its applications. SFBBM is also a member society of FEBS and EBSA. For more information see